Diocesan Pastoral Council

Mission Statement

“Inspired by the Word of God, the Diocesan Pastoral Council supports the Bishop in discerning the pastoral concerns of all the people of the Diocese and males recommendations – with a special concern for those who feel they do not belong.”

 In our Diocesan Pastoral Plan, which was launched at the Diocesan Congress in September 2012, one of our stated aims was to promote a culture of co-responsibility among laity, clergy and religious at every level of the life of the Diocese.  To take this aim forward, a Diocesan Pastoral Council has been established to work with the Bishop to identify the key pastoral issues facing the Diocese and to discern the appropriate responses.

How was the Pastoral Council formed?

The Listening Events which took place throughout our Diocese in 2011 helped to identify the key themes which have guided us since then.  We established Working Groups made up of clergy, religious and laity to help us formulate the Pastoral Plan.

Bishop Treanor has asked some members of these planning groups to form an inaugural council which also includes a fair geographic representation of the Diocese, as well as ensuring an appropriate age and gender balance


P1000495                                                           P1000478

Who are the Members of the Diocesan Pastoral Council?

President                            Bishop Noel Treanor 

Chair                                     Mr Stephen McAnee

Vice-Chair                           Mrs Anne McDermott

Secretary                             Vacant, previously held by George Gordon cfc

Prayer Co-ordinator       Sr Margaret-Rose McSparron CP


Bishop Anthony Farquhar (Auxiliary Bishop)

Mr Kieran Casey (Dunloy & Cloughmills Parish, North Connor Pastoral Area Team)

Mr John Colgan (Newcastle Parish)

Fr. Sean Emerson (Antrim Parish Priest)

Mrs Máire Fitzpatrick (St Anne’s Parish, Down and Connor Prayer Guides)

Fr John Forsythe (St Mary’s on the Hill Parish, Chair of Council of Priests)

Fr Gerard Fox (Belfast City Hospital Chaplain, Secretary of Council of Priests)

Fr Joseph Glover (Diocesan Financial Controller)

Miss Katrina Lynch (Antrim Parish)

Miss Claire McCusker (Holy Family Parish, Diocesan Liturgy Commission)

Fr Alan McGuckian SJ (Director of Living Church)

Mrs Paula McKeown (Director of Faith Development)

Fr Eugene O’Hagan (Diocesan Chancellor, Ballyclare Parish Priest)

Mr Micheal Rodgers (Carnlough Parish)


What is a Diocesan pastoral Council?

The pastoral Council is a group of committed people of God called upon to:

  • Review pastoral matters
  • Reflect on the thoroughly
  • Recommend practical conclusions to the Bishop

DPC Statutes